How long do peanuts last?
First separate dry peanuts from home-boiled leftovers, then check shell state, roasting and whether the package is open. FoodKeeper has different purchase and opening quality references. Match the actual product’s instructions; home-boiled peanuts need prompt refrigerated leftover handling.
Quick answer
FoodKeeper lists four months in the pantry from purchase for shelf-stable in-shell peanuts as a freshness/quality reference. The row does not specify roasting or whether the package is open; use the roasted branch and actual maker’s instructions when applicable.
From purchase. The row does not establish unopened status; do not add pantry, refrigerator and freezer periods together or extend the actual package date.
FoodKeeper lists twelve months in the refrigerator from purchase for shelf-stable in-shell peanuts as a freshness/quality reference. The row does not specify roasting or whether the package is open; use the roasted branch and actual maker’s instructions when applicable.
Only for peanuts kept in the refrigerator from purchase. Moving older peanuts here does not start a new period or supply its remaining months. Do not add storage locations together or extend the actual package date.
FoodKeeper lists twenty-four months in the freezer from purchase for shelf-stable in-shell peanuts as a freshness/quality reference. The row does not specify roasting or whether the package is open; use the roasted branch and actual maker’s instructions when applicable.
Only for peanuts kept in the freezer from purchase. Moving older peanuts here does not start a new period or supply its remaining months. Do not add storage locations together or extend the actual package date.
FoodKeeper lists four weeks in the pantry from purchase for shelf-stable shelled peanuts as a freshness/quality reference. The row does not specify roasting or whether the package is open; use the roasted branch and actual maker’s instructions when applicable.
From purchase. The row does not establish unopened status; do not add pantry, refrigerator and freezer periods together or extend the actual package date.
FoodKeeper lists twelve months in the refrigerator from purchase for shelf-stable shelled peanuts as a freshness/quality reference. The row does not specify roasting or whether the package is open; use the roasted branch and actual maker’s instructions when applicable.
Only for peanuts kept in the refrigerator from purchase. Moving older peanuts here does not start a new period or supply its remaining months. Do not add storage locations together or extend the actual package date.
FoodKeeper lists twenty-four months in the freezer from purchase for shelf-stable shelled peanuts as a freshness/quality reference. The row does not specify roasting or whether the package is open; use the roasted branch and actual maker’s instructions when applicable.
Only for peanuts kept in the freezer from purchase. Moving older peanuts here does not start a new period or supply its remaining months. Do not add storage locations together or extend the actual package date.
FoodKeeper’s explicitly roasted-nut category names peanuts and directs the reader to the package use-by date for pantry storage.
Follow the actual package use-by date; this is not an elapsed period starting at purchase or permission for extra days after the date.
FoodKeeper gives opened roasted peanuts one to two weeks in the pantry as a freshness/quality reference. PLANTERS separately recommends cool, dry storage for its shelf-stable nuts, away from sunlight and moisture.
From opening; preserve prior age and any shorter actual label instruction.
FoodKeeper gives opened roasted peanuts four weeks refrigerated as a freshness/quality reference. FDA separately recommends a household refrigerator at 40°F or below.
From opening, with continued refrigeration; moving an older opened package from the pantry does not start this period. Do not add pantry and refrigerator periods or extend a shorter label instruction.
USDA’s general cooked-leftover advice is applied here to home-boiled peanuts: cool promptly in shallow portions, keep refrigerated at 40°F or below and use within three to four days. This applies a general category; it is not a peanut-specific storage trial.
The start at initial cooking is inferred from the leftover context. Count from cooking, with prompt chilling and continued refrigeration; reheating does not restart it. Retain any shorter product or ingredient instruction.
PLANTERS says its nuts may be frozen for up to four weeks or until the best-by date, keeping whichever limit comes first, and thawed in the refrigerator. Follow that maker instruction instead of the broader FoodKeeper peanut freezer reference.
A limited freezer period with the original best-by date retained. This FAQ gives no separate period after thawing.
Why guidance varies
Shell state, roasting, package opening and cooking change which guidance fits. A dry peanut reference does not establish storage for wet freshly dug peanuts, boiled leftovers or an unidentified preserved product.
Match the product state, storage conditions and source clock above. This guide does not provide an automatic expiry timer.
Frequently asked questions
Can I keep home-boiled peanuts in the pantry like dry peanuts?
No. Home-boiled peanuts are cooked leftovers, separate from dry shelf-stable peanuts. Cool them promptly and keep them refrigerated; this advice does not assume a shelf-stable canning process.
Do purchase and opening references give consecutive extra time?
No. Purchase and opening describe different events and product conditions. Opening or chilling does not erase previous age or extend the actual product label. Cold-from-purchase periods require that location from purchase; they are not a remaining allowance for older pantry peanuts.
Are green freshly dug peanuts covered?
No. These dry shelf-stable references do not establish storage for wet freshly dug peanuts, coated sweets, peanut flour or mixed dishes. Use directions for the actual product and preparation.
Should I use a broad freezer reference instead of PLANTERS instructions?
Use the exact product’s instructions. PLANTERS supplies its own limited freezing and refrigerator-thawing advice, so the broad peanut row must not replace it.
Sources for this answer
- A U.S. Food and Drug Administration — Are You Storing Food Safely? — Separate household conditions and safety cautions: refrigerator at 40°F or below, freezer at 0°F or below, prompt chilling of perishable cooked foods and no safety proof from normal senses.
- A FoodSafety.gov / USDA FSIS, Cornell University and Food Marketing Institute — FoodKeeper English product data — Separate dry in-shell and shelled purchase-based quality references, plus the explicitly roasted category’s package-date and opened references. The boiled/shelled row is not used to give home-boiled or canned peanuts a period.
- A FoodSafety.gov — FoodKeeper App — FoodKeeper freshness/quality purpose; its broad purchase-based references do not override a product’s label or permit sequential storage allowances.
- A USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service — Leftovers and Food Safety — USDA general cooked-leftover advice applied to home-boiled peanuts: prompt shallow cooling, continued refrigeration at 40°F or below and three to four days. Initial cooking is an explicit inferred start. This is a category application, not a peanut-specific study; no freezer or post-thaw period is supplied here.
- B PLANTERS / Hormel Foods — Can I freeze PLANTERS products? — PLANTERS instruction to freeze its nuts for up to four weeks or until the best-by date, retaining the earlier limit, then thaw in the refrigerator. The FAQ does not expressly classify the endpoint or supply a post-thaw period.
- B PLANTERS / Hormel — Do heat or humidity affect the shelf life of PLANTERS products? — PLANTERS cool, dry storage away from sunlight and moisture for its shelf-stable nuts. No new period or home-boiled/green-peanut advice is attributed to this source.