Condiments

How Long Do Almonds Last? Shells and Roasted Snacks

Medium confidence State-specific storage

Roasted snack almonds use a different guide from shell-specific almonds. FoodKeeper lists 1–2 weeks in the pantry or 4 weeks refrigerated after opening roasted almonds, for quality. Follow any more restrictive package directions.

Quick answer

In-shell almonds: purchase-based storage · Quality references

FoodKeeper’s shell-on row lists 6 months in the pantry from purchase, 16 months refrigerated from purchase, or 20 months frozen from purchase, for quality. The row does not specify raw versus roasted.

Count from the original purchase date under the named storage condition. Opening, repacking or moving between storage locations does not reset this clock; do not add or subtract these allowances across a mixed storage history.

Source 1 · Source 2

Shelled almonds: purchase-based storage · Quality references

FoodKeeper’s no-shell row lists 4 months in the pantry from purchase, 8 months refrigerated from purchase, or 10 months frozen from purchase, for quality. The row does not specify raw versus roasted.

Count from the original purchase date under the named storage condition. Opening, repacking or moving between storage locations does not reset this clock; do not add or subtract these allowances across a mixed storage history.

Source 1 · Source 2

Commercial roasted almonds: package date · Package-date guidance

FoodKeeper’s roasted-nut row names almonds and directs readers to the package use-by date for its purchase-based pantry guidance. It does not supply an extra grace period past that date.

Use the actual package date. This row does not establish a new elapsed purchase-to-expiry period.

Source 1 · Source 2

Opened roasted almonds, pantry · FoodKeeper quality reference; separate maker instruction

FoodKeeper gives 1–2 weeks after opening for quality. Blue Diamond separately gives the same period for its snack almonds.

Count from opening, with the named storage condition after opening. Do not use this as extra time beyond more restrictive package directions or to erase poor prior handling.

Source 1 · Source 2 · Source 3

Opened roasted almonds, refrigerated · FoodKeeper quality reference; separate maker instruction

FoodKeeper gives 4 weeks after opening for quality. Blue Diamond separately gives about 4 weeks for its refrigerated snack almonds; keep the container tightly sealed.

Count from opening, with the named storage condition after opening. Do not use this as extra time beyond more restrictive package directions or to erase poor prior handling.

Source 1 · Source 2 · Source 3

Discard immediately if

Why guidance varies

This page covers dry edible almonds. FoodKeeper distinguishes in-shell and shelled almonds but does not identify those rows as raw or roasted; use the explicit roasted-snack branch when it matches. No separate period is established here for sliced, ground, soaked or sprouted almonds. Almond flour, milk, butter, oil and mixed recipes do not inherit whole-nut periods. No generic freezer period is selected for roasted snack almonds.

Search food storage guidance

Match the product state, storage conditions and source clock above. This guide does not provide an automatic expiry timer.

Frequently asked questions

Can I restart the almond clock when I refrigerate them?

No. The shell-specific FoodKeeper figures are for pantry, refrigerated or frozen storage from purchase. Moving older almonds into the fridge does not establish a fresh 8- or 16-month allowance, and these figures cannot be combined to calculate a mixed-storage deadline.

Do sliced or soaked almonds use the whole-almond numbers?

No separate numerical period is established here for sliced, ground, soaked or sprouted almonds. The shell rows do not supply those preparation-specific clocks; follow guidance for the actual product or recipe.

Sources for this answer

Reviewed: 2026-10 · Rule: if manufacturer storage instructions are stricter than category guidance, the manufacturer instructions win.